November 16, 2009

News: NY Songwriter's Circle announces songwriting contest finalists

The New York Songwriters Circle recently announced 12 finalists for its fourth annual songwriting contest and three finalists for its Young Songwriters Award.

The finalists for the songwriting contest are Barnaby Bright, Kate Branagh, Caleb Hawley, Clara Oman, Janet Onyenucheya, Adrien Reju, Martin Rivas, Bobby Smith, Chloe Temtchine, Justin Tracy, the Sweet Remains and Reed Waddle.

The Young Songwriter Award finalists were chosen by a poll on the social networking and gaming website Fashion Fantasy Game. They are 15-year-old Ali Brustofski of New York, 17-year-old Aubrey Caswell of Thousand Oaks, Calif., and 17-year-old Maddie Georgi from Pittsburgh.

Past winners of NYSC’s contest include Grammy-wining songwriter Gordon Chambers (who wrote “I Apologize” for Anita Vaker) and Siedah Garret (who co-wrote “Man in the Mirror” for Michael Jackson).

The winners will be determined by a panel of judges at live performances on Nov. 18 and 19 at Bitter End in Greenwich Village.

The winner will receive over $25,000 in cash and prizes as well as a performance spot with John Oates, a Gibson acoustic guitar, an opportunity to record with producer Glenn Barrett and a guest spot on Jonathan Clarke’s Q104.3 radio show.

No comments:

Post a Comment